Cristiano Ronaldo’s penalty was ‘special gift’ from World Cup referee, says Ghana coach |  News, scores, highlights, stats and rumours

Cristiano Ronaldo’s penalty was ‘special gift’ from World Cup referee, says Ghana coach | News, scores, highlights, stats and rumours

Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo celebrates after scoring his side's first goal during the World Cup Group H football match between Portugal and Ghana, at Stadium 974 in Doha, Qatar, Thursday, Nov. 24, 2022. (AP Photo/Hassan Ammar)

AP Photo/Hassan Ammar

Portugal’s wild 3-2 win over Ghana on Thursday was not without controversy, as Cristiano Ronaldo scored the first goal on a penalty after going down after a tackle from Ghana’s Mohammed Salisu in the penalty area left the African nation furious, in the belief that the attacker had taken a dive.

Fox Football @FOXFootball

PENALTY FOR PORTUGAL

Do you agree with the call? pic.twitter.com/ZYTaNTlnfE

Ghanaian manager Otto Addo was also saddened by the decision and hit US referee Ismail Elfath hard after the match.

“If someone scores a goal, congratulations,” he said told reporters. “But this was really a gift. Really a gift. What more can I say? [It was] a special gift from the referee.”

“I think it was really the wrong decision,” he continued. “I don’t know why the VAR didn’t come. There’s no explanation for me. And then it’s difficult against a world-class team when they’re in the lead.”

He was not alone in his confusion:

Anyway, the goal was not changed, Ronaldo converted from the spot and Portugal won the back-and-forth World Cup opener.

Controversy or not, Ghana was without points after the first day of play.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *